Nepal Challenge Treks
Pay Online | | +977-9741470101 (WhatsApp/Viber) |

Want to customize and plan your perfect trip? Let’s get started!

Enquiry Now

Speak to an Expert?

Nima Dorjee Tamang (Nepal)
Brigitte Muir (Australia)
Laura (United States)
Chang Helen (Taiwan)
Evelyne (Switzerland)

Want to contact travel experts? Let’s get started!

Contact Us

NMA Peaks and Permit Fees

The Nepal Mountaineering Association (NMA) manages a list of trekking peaks in Nepal known as the NMA Peaks. These peaks are considered technically less challenging compared to the major expedition peaks but still offer exciting climbing opportunities. Here is some information about NMA Peaks and permit fees:

  1. NMA Peaks: The NMA maintains a list of 27 peaks in Nepal that are open for climbing. Some popular NMA Peaks include Island Peak (Imja Tse), Mera Peak, Lobuche Peak, Pisang Peak, and Yala Peak, among others. These peaks range in altitude and difficulty, providing options for climbers with varying levels of experience.
  2. Permit Fees: Climbing NMA Peaks requires obtaining a climbing permit from the Nepal Mountaineering Association. The permit fees for NMA Peaks are determined by the association and are subject to change. The fees may vary based on the altitude of the peak and the season in which climbing is attempted.
  3. Peak Categories and Permit Costs: The NMA categorizes the peaks into different groups based on their altitude. The permit fees for NMA Peaks are typically divided into two categories: a. Group A Peaks: Peaks between 5,800 meters and 6,500 meters fall under Group A. Examples include Mera Peak, Lobuche Peak, and Pisang Peak. The permit fees for Group A peaks are generally higher compared to Group B. b. Group B Peaks: Peaks below 5,800 meters fall under Group B. Examples include Island Peak (Imja Tse), Yala Peak, and Chulu East. The permit fees for Group B peaks are usually lower compared to Group A.
  4. Climbing Seasons: The climbing seasons in Nepal for NMA Peaks are generally during the spring (March to May) and autumn (September to November). These seasons offer favorable weather and conditions for climbing. Permit fees may be higher during these peak climbing seasons compared to other times of the year.
  5. Application through Registered Agencies: To obtain a climbing permit for NMA Peaks, climbers are required to apply through registered trekking agencies or tour operators. These agencies will assist with the permit application process and arrange the necessary logistics for the climbing expedition.
  6. Additional Fees: In addition to the climbing permit fees, climbers may be required to pay other fees, such as the National Park entry fee or conservation fees for the specific area where the peak is located.

It’s important to note that the permit fees and regulations for NMA Peaks are subject to change. It is advisable to consult with authorized trekking agencies, the Nepal Mountaineering Association, or the Department of Tourism in Nepal for the most up-to-date information on permit fees, regulations, and application procedures for climbing NMA Peaks.

Climbers should also ensure they have the necessary experience, physical fitness, and appropriate equipment to attempt the chosen NMA Peak. Engaging with experienced climbing operators or professional mountaineering guides is highly recommended for a safe and successful climbing expedition.

Associated With/Partners